The Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research


The Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research



Established in 1997, the Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research is an independent, not-for-profit think tank that examines critical issues confronting society from a neutral and impartial standpoint; undertakes rigorous, evidence-based research; and offers a range of policy options in pioneering paths to a brighter future. We also cultivate broadminded, socially engaged future leaders, both in Japan and overseas, and contribute to building a better society for all.

Name The Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research
President Izumi Kadono
Established July 1, 1997 (certified as a public interest incorporated foundation on April 1, 2010)
Total Net Worth 66,875,794,492 yen (as of March 31, 2022)
Fiscal 2022
Operating Budget
1,991,820,000 yen


The Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research was founded on July 1, 1997, as the “Global Foundation for Research and Fellowship” with donations from the Japanese Shipbuilding Industry Foundation (now the Nippon Foundation) and Japan’s boat-racing industry following authorization by the Minister of Transport (now the Minister of Land, Infrastructure, and Transport).

We became the “Tokyo Foundation” in May 1999 to give a clearer regional orientation to our policy research and leadership development activities and emerged as a public interest incorporated foundation on April 1, 2010, following authorization by the Cabinet Office in March 2010. Building on two decades as Japan’s preeminent think tank, we renamed ourselves “The Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research” in February 2018 as our next step in our evolution into a world-class institute of policy research.



Reiko Akiike Co-Chairperson-Japan, The Boston Consulting Group
Takeju Ogata President, The Nippon Foundation
Atsuko Shinohara Professor at the Research Institute for Cultural Studies, Director of the Educational Support Center, and Director of the Wellness Center, Seisen University
Atsushi Sunami President, Sasakawa Peace Foundation
Mieko Nakabayashi Professor at the Center for International Education, Waseda University
Masahito Monguchi Adviser, Anderson Mori & Tomotsune
Hiroshi Yoshikawa Emeritus Professor, University of Tokyo; Honorary President, Policy Research Institute, Ministry of Finance

Honorary Chair

Yohei Sasakawa Chairman, The Nippon Foundation

Board Members

Izumi Kadono President
Yuichiro Anzai Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
Hidewo Furukawa Executive Director
Mari Suzuki Executive Director
Toshihiko Fukui Nonexecutive Director, President, Canon Institute for Global Studies
Masahisa Ikeda Nonexecutive Director, Executive Group Partner, Asia Regional
Managing Partner, and Head of Tokyo Office, Shearman & Sterling LLP
Katsunori Tanizaki Nonexecutive Director, Representative Director, President and CEO, Japan Research Institute, Ltd.


Kaoru Kashima Director of Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Holdings, Inc.; Certified Public Accountant
Kimito Nakae Audit & Supervisory Board Member, Daiwa Securities Co. Ltd

(As of April 2, 2024)

Organization Chart

(As of January 5, 2024)


Click on the link below to contact an expert or submit a question.