Introduction to the New Financial Scheme

Introduction to the New Financial Scheme

In response to persistently low interests following the 2008 financial crisis, the Tokyo Foundation and Nippon Foundation decided in September 2014 to jointly launch a new financial scheme. This has enabled a number of Sylff institutions to resume the awarding of fellowships to their top students despite ongoing financial uncertainty. As of April 2017, 11 Sylff institutions have joined the new scheme. The new scheme is recommended for those institutions wishing to enrich the Sylff program without worrying about financial sustainability.

What’s the Difference with the Conventional Scheme?

The biggest difference is that Sylff institutions will no longer need to invest Sylff funds to generate income. The Tokyo Foundation—the secretariat for the Sylff Association—will award fellowships directly to students nominated by the steering committee of Sylff institutions after confirming the eligibility of the nominees.

What’s the Annual Budget under the New Scheme?

The maximum amount provided for fellowships is $50,000* per institution. An additional $2,500 will be disbursed each year to cover administrative costs. The fellowship amount is intended to be generous enough to enable students to fully commit themselves to their studies. While the new scheme is financed differently, it will maintain the same Sylff values and aims as the conventional scheme.

*The amount is guaranteed during the initial five years of the Agreement and may be revised, depending on market conditions, when the Agreement is renewed for the next five years.

How Do Institutions Join?

Sylff institutions wishing to join the new scheme should first return the endowment to its donor, the Nippon Foundation. The Tokyo Foundation and the Sylff institution will then conclude a five-year Agreement setting forth the terms of the program at each institution, including eligibility and the fellowship amount per student. The Agreement will be renewed every five years as long as the institution fulfills its obligations in accordance with its terms.

Download Operation Manual (PDF)

The following 11 institutions currently operate the Sylff program under the new scheme:

- University of Belgrade (Serbia)
- University of Chile (Chile)
- University of Coimbra (Portugal)
- Comenius University in Bratislava (Slovakia)
- Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris (France)
- University of Deusto (Spain)
- Institute of Political Education, Pedro Arrupe (Italy)
- University of Leipzig (Germany)
- University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna (Austria)
- National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece)
- Ruhr University Bochum (Germany)

Watch the video that answers some of the frequently asked questions from Sylff institutions.

For further inquiries, please contact the secretariat of the Sylff Association at sylff[a] (replace [a] with @)

to page top